Last Day of School

Standard

Today was the last day of school. I know, on a Saturday. Yesterday everyone started at 9 and ended at noon. It was a fun and games day yesterday. This morning, we had a Kevät Juhla, aka Spring Party. We sang a hymn atyt the beginning, and afterwards held some award ceremonies. Then, all of the school sang to the six graders, that were graduating. Each sixth grader got a book with a diploma in it, along with their picture. Also, a single red rose.

In five days I leave to Sweden from Turku. I will go to Turku by train in four days. I don’t know if anyone remembers me mentioning going to  Sweden for a month as a nanny, but I am. I’ll go to Sweden for a month by myself without any family, to Dokkas, which is by Gällivare, where my moms sister lives with her husband and three sons.

 

More about that later, sorry so short, stay tuned, terveisin Suomesta,

 

Enya

3 responses »

  1. My finnish is getting very bad, guys…..Oh well, there’s still good old google translator, hey? Or rather, Eh? as we canadians tend to say….
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Wouldnt Kevät Juhla translate into Summer Festivities? I guess… 😉 Since kesä is summer. Oh well, I have no clue. As long as I get to drink Juhla Mokka coffee, I’m glad.
    Have a GREAT kesäloma anyway! :)))

  3. yeah, I thought it would have been summer too. Apparently not. (at least according to google….) Thank goodness for google… Otherwise I would have failed french this term……
    kidding. I actually translated word by word in the dictionary……Pretty bad, hey? (Eh?) but then again, we don’t go around learning about zebras and golden fur, now, do we? No, we don’t, so I had to use the dictionary…

Leave a Reply

